WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writer's Beat > Introductions

Introductions Introduce yourself; we're all writers here, nothing to hide!

Hello everybody!

Old 07-20-2006, 01:47 AM
Jimbo (Offline)
Eloquent Troll
Official Member

Thanks 2
Default Hello everybody! (Again!)

Hi there,

I've just stumbled across this website and decided it's a place I want to set up camp.

My name's James, I'm 30 and from England, living near London. I'm a complete amateur at this writing lark, but am having a crack at writing a "humourous" novel. (Bit daunting, as I've never written more than 1000 words at once before. But I'm getting there, slowly but surely).

I've uploaded the first chapter here http://www.writersbeat.com/two-knigh...4631#post44631. But I have been told it's a bit large, so I might break it up into two separate threads. In the meantime, please feel free to read as much or as little of it as you like, and still comment.

If you'd like me to read your work and give you my crummy attempt at feedback, then I'm most interested in reading fantasy, comedy, sci-fi, action and maybe a bit of horror. (But, I'll be reading random things anyway, just as soon as they let me out of work!).

Bad language doesn't bother me, and neither do adult situations. Although my own writing will only ever contain fairly mild and very infrequent swearing.

So, hello and goodbye for now,
James

Chapter 1 - Part 1
Chapter 1 - Part 2

Ralph, a down-on-his-luck son of a merchant meets Bernard, a street thug and former archer in the English army. A chance encounter with the King leads Bernard to believe that they are to be knighted, if only they can get the King's attention again.

Chapter 2

In southern England, a man called Lord Burnaby writes a suspicious letter to an unknown associate. The pair are clearly up to no good.

Chapter 3