WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Fiction

Fiction Novel excerpts, short stories, etc.

The Janitor

Old 07-12-2014, 06:11 PM
whunter (Offline)
Profusive Denizen
Official Member

Thanks 38
Default The Janitor

I've held a lot of jobs in my life. Some I was good at and some I wasn't. In my junior year of college I wanted to study to be a doctor. It didn't go so well. Mostly because I was unaware of what I was getting myself into. Knowing is half the battle, or at least that's what they say.

I studied philosophy in college, because I wanted to understand other people's perspectives of life. I got that and more, I started to see why I made certain decisions and judged whether they were based on reason or simply unfounded desires.

I always thought certain titles were nifty, so I tried all sorts of things. Accountant, investor, novelist, musician, college student and graphic designer. I didn't care about making a living, I cared about making an impression. I felt inadequate. But, I was merely an impostor.

I tried on these titles, not because I sought their highest end, but because on the surface they gave me adequacy, socially and otherwise. Of course, everyone knew it was bullshit. I could never adhere to self-proclaimed titles I had tacked on in conversation, because they were not my occupation.

I ruminated on the solution. Months had passed, I was sleeping on my mother's couch after college, hunting for the right job, when I realized: I must see things through to their highest good and do only what is expected of me to the best of my ability. So I do, everyday from 6am to 4pm. You can see your reflection in my floors.

Last edited by whunter; 07-12-2014 at 06:52 PM..
Old 07-13-2014, 02:51 PM
Ol'ManRiver (Offline)
Let me introduce myself
New Author